Being Muslim

Being Muslim is not being a devil

How can you people be so reluctant and ill

O world listen gingerly,now that I reveal

Popping off with the mouth what I feel

If looking at us brings you in chafe

I pray to Allah to keep you safe

If my presence brings you a sense of idiosyncrasy

If my attire makes you go fussy

If my beards appear to you a sign of idiocy

Still I pray to Allah to make your life easy

But one question still persists 

Which irritates me and tandemly repeats

Why do you fear me and get inflamed

I m also a human with a common name

Then why are we forced to rename?

If putting a ban,is the way you deal

Then mindset of your society gets revealed

How can you make my fate seal?

Oh!only because you believe you are civil?

I follow my religion but love’your’ country

I pray my deity but respect your authority

Trust me we are not to be “doubted”on contrary!!!

My religion is Islam 

Which taught me to be calm

Even at occasions when you slam

Dear people just keep your hand on my palm

We don’t want to be banned,neither get shunned ever

We just want a lil’place in your heart forever

We too are human,why we need to prove over and over

We just want love and not your shiver

Just remember our beliefs may be different but God is one,the ultimate giver!



#donaldtrump#muslimban

31 comments

  1. Most in the West feel Christianity and Islam are mutually exclusive. They are also fearful of living as minorities in Muslim countries. I do not have answers but your poem is an insightful expression of hope and peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for this. I can imagine that, in other contexts, something similar might be written by a Christian, a Jew, a Hindi, etc. And yet I would also raise a question: Does history suggest that our various religions have promoted feelings of brotherhood, of sympathy for others outside our particular communities — of have they rather promoted opposition, misunderstanding, and war? I recall a line from Freud (in translation): “When once the Apostle Paul had posited universal love between men as the foundation of his Christian community, extreme intolerance on the part of Christendom towards those who remained outside it became the inevitable consequence.” Cordially, William Eaton, Montaigbakhtinian

    Liked by 2 people

    • Welcome!And thnkyou fr sharing ur views.I cn undrstnd ur question but d thng z dat no religion preaches inequality,misunderstanding or war!The particular godmen of each religion have obviously manipulated the teachings for their own profits either creating gap between two communities or two genders.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

